Andes Mint Chocolate Chunk Cookies

mint

Confession: I have absolutely no self-control when it comes to cookies.  I probably eat at least 5 from every batch I make.  It is a problem.  Another confession: I don’t really like chocolate and mint together.  I mean, I’ll eat it, because it has chocolate in it, but it is not my first choice.  However I know others love it, so I decided to make some chocolate mint chip cookies this past weekend for a friend’s St. Patrick’s Day party.  Any recipe that will go over well with my friends but won’t force me to end up looking like this is a win-win if you ask me! 

insert

Baking tip: when creming together the butter and sugar, make sure to do it for about 5 minutes, until the mixture is light and fluffy!

insert

Look at those little mint chip nuggets!

insert

Baking in the oven

insert

The finished product!  I love the hint of green peeking through.

insert

Ready for the St. Patrick’s Day party!

Of course I had to sample one for quality control.  Or two.  But I was able to stop after two – a new record for me!  I had one the next day too though, just to make sure they still tasted good…  And they did!  Even to a non-mint lover, I still loved these cookies!

They are soft, chewy, and gooey – the perfect texture for a cookie if you ask me.  I love the addition of cocoa powder to the dough.  It gives a hint of chocolate flavor in the background. The Andes mint chips can be hard to find, at least in the small NYC markets that I frequent.

So if you can’t find them, just chop up some Andes mints instead. Check out Sally’s Baking Addiction for the recipe.

10 thoughts on “Andes Mint Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. these look soooo yumm!! and i LOVE andes, but the last time i asked someone to bring me a box from there, they couldn’t find em anywhere 😦 i thought they’ve stopped production !!

  2. Very pretty presentation! The Andes Mint cookies that I made at Christmas time were a new favorite. I think the addition of cocoa is a great idea…will do that next time. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Fluffy Buttermilk Pancakes | Chez Catey Lou

Leave a Reply

