Healthy Pineapple Coconut Smoothies

photo

It is finally starting to feel like summer!  Which means I want to eat ice cream pretty much all the time (TheBetterhalf: How is this different from winter?).  NYC is dangerous for me – there is an ice cream or fro-yo store on almost every block.  But rather than giving in to the temptation the other day,  I decided to make a smoothie to satisfy my craving for a frozen treat.  I like to make my smoothies with yogurt and milk so that they are creamy and make it seem like I’m drinking a milkshake.  But I use almond milk and fat free yogurt, so the calorie count stays low and there is very little fat.  I went with pineapple coconut to really make myself feel like I was on vacation!  The entire thing only has 214 calories, and this make a huge smoothie!  For those looking for a fun drink to make over the long holiday weekend, this smoothie would also be great with a little rum added in.  Cheers!   

IMG_3179

Sprinkle some toasted coconut on top for a little extra flavor and some crunch! Plus it looks pretty.

IMG_3172

Add a little rum for a tropical cocktail!

IMG_3190

Just like you are on vacation!

Healthy Pineapple Coconut Smoothies
Ingredients
1 tablespoon shredded sweetened coconut, plus extra for garnish
1 6oz container fat free yogurt, coconut flavor – I use Dannon Light n Fit Toasted Coconut (if you can’t find this, use vanilla and add a drop of coconut extract)
1 cup fresh pineapple, cut into pieces
½ cup milk of choice, I used unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze
3-5 ice cubes

Directions
If you want to garnish with toasted coconut, spread some sweetened shredded coconut on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees F for about 5 minutes, until golden brown. Make sure you watch it so that it doesn’t burn. I do this in a toaster oven. Set aside to cool

Add all ingredients above to a blender. Blend on high until smooth. Pour in a tall glass and garnish with toasted coconut, if desired.

Calories for the entire smoothie (if you use almond milk) 214.

8 thoughts on “Healthy Pineapple Coconut Smoothies

  1. I just made this, without the yogurt (didn’t have any on hand), and added a banana. Love it!! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

